skip to main content

Safety

 

 

Welcome to the Talbott Elementary School Safety Page. This is to keep you, as a parent or guardian, up to date with any laws concerning Child Safety. As a School Resource Officer, it is my primary goal to keep the children of this great county as safe as possible while in school. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me via email or school phone.

Email: asmith@jcboe.net                               School: (865)475-2988

Thank You for allowing me to Serve the Talbott Community and the Citizens of Jefferson County, TN.

-Deputy Andrew Smith

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

SCHOOL ZONE LAWS

School Zone Speed

Everyday at 7am-8am and 3pm-4pm the amber warning lights at the entrance to the elementary school begin flashing. This is to notify drivers they are entering a school zone and the speed limit drops. The posted school zone speed limit for Talbott Elementary is 20mph and is strictly enforced. For more infromoration look up TCA 55-8-152.

 

 

No Cell Phone Use In Tennessee School Zones

EFFECTIVE JANUARY, 1ST 2018:

Criminal Offenses - As enacted, creates the Class C misdemeanor, punishable only by a fine of up to $50.00, for a person to knowingly operate a motor vehicle in any marked school zone in this state, when a warning flasher or flashers are in operation, and talk on a hand-held mobile telephone while the vehicle is in motion; makes it a delinquent act, punishable only by a fine of up to $50.00, for a person under the age of 18 to operate a motor vehicle and talk on a mobile phone that is equipped with a hands-free device while the vehicle is in motion; creates certain exceptions. - Amends TCA Title 55, Chapter 8.

 

 

Seat Belts:

Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-9-603 describes Tennessee as a primary safety belt state. Drivers are required to wear safety belts at all times when operating a motor vehicle in Tennessee. All drivers and front seat passengers are covered by the seat belt law and must have a seat belt properly fastened about their bodies at all times when the vehicle is in a forward motion.

Children less than age 18 are covered under the Tennessee Child Passenger Safety and Graduated Driver Licensing laws. All occupants in ALL seating positions should buckle up. Unbuckled rear-seat occupants can injure buckled front-seat occupants, as well as themselves, when they are thrown around or out of a vehicle during a crash.

What are the Odds

Christy's Kids want you to Buckle Up

 

 

 

Child Restaint System (Car Seats):

The most common question I recieve is about car seats/booster seats. Below is a link that will answer that:

https://tntrafficsafety.org/cps

 



 

 Upadated: 8/27/2018